CIES Advisory Board Members


Harris Pastides Harris Pastides (Chair since 2015; member since 2012)
Distinguished President Emeritus and Distinguished Professor Emeritus, University of South Carolina


J. David Armstrong, Jr.

J. David Armstrong, Jr. (member since 2017)
President, Broward College

Bob Berdahl

Bob Berdahl (member since 2015)
Chancellor Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley
President Emeritus, Association of American Universities

Harris Pastides

Victor J. Boschini, Jr. (member since 2012)
Chancellor, Texas Christian University

Dr. Rafael L. Bras

Dr. Rafael L. Bras  (new member 2019)
Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
K. Harrison Brown Family Chair, Georgia Institute of Technology

Hannah Buxbaum

Hannah Buxbaum (new member 2019)
Vice President for International Affairs, Indiana University
John E. Schiller Chair in Legal Ethics and Professor of Law

Robin Helms

Robin Helms (member since 2017)
Deputy Chief Innovation Officer and Principal Internationalization Strategist, Research, American Council on Education (ACE)

Linn Hobbs

Linn Hobbs (member since 2013)
John F. Elliott Professor of Materials Emeritus, Professor of Nuclear Engineering Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ronald Kassimir

Ronald Kassimir (member since 2012)
Vice President of Programs, Social Science Research Council

Bette Loiselle

Bette Loiselle (member since 2006)
Director, Tropical Conservation and Development Program, Center for Latin American Studies
Professor, Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation, University of Florida

Reitumetse Obakeng Mabokela

Reitumetse Obakeng Mabokela (new member 2019)
Vice Provost for International Affairs and Global Strategies, University of Illinois

Fernando Reimers

Fernando Reimers (new member 2019)
Ford Foundation Professor of Practice in International Education
Faculty Director, International Education Policy, Harvard Graduate School of Education

Vaughan Turekian

Vaughan Turekian (member since 2018)
Executive Director of the Policy and Global Affairs Division (PGA), National Academy of Sciences

Harris Pastides

Anand Yang (member since 2006)
Director, Jackson School of International Studies, University of Washington